Antilibrary

So many books to read, so little time.

Aren`t we forgetting something ?

with 5 comments

I have just done something which I do fairly often: I have dowloaded an interesting PDF with the intention of reading it later: in this instance a paper on int`l support for the FARC which I got via smallwars.org.

http://www.nefafoundation.org/miscellaneous/FeaturedDocs/nefafarcirnetworkdeception0908.pdf

Been at my laptop a lot today – work for next week, so I will not read any more now. Got a new DVD (No country for old men) to watch this evening.

Still, I have an uneasy feeling. How many docs of this type do I still have which are unread, just saved “in case” ? (Hint: 2 external HDs).

How about you ?

Addendum: http://www.zotero.org/ !

In response to LexGreen in the comments section: I forgot to mention ZOTERO yesterday. H/T to Zenpundit http://zenpundit.com/?s=ZOTERO.

Z seems like a godsend to us content junkies. I have spent an hour on it last weekend and liked it though I am far from using systematically. Caveat – I just do not know wheter it`s great or just great-looking OK ? Try at yr own risk – I, for one, will give it a trial asap.

Written by fabiusmcunctator

October 18, 2008 at 7:30 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Don’t fret! You’re not alone! I have a 90.8mb folder on my desktop, named, “To Read.” It’s filled with PDFs and Word Files, I intend to read. I try to read one file each day … Unfortunately, I daily add more than one file to the folder …

    Ortho

    October 18, 2008 at 9:00 pm

  2. I don’t have a problem so much with pdfs, but more with bookmarking articles which I have a brief look at, then promise I’ll read later. Of course, I never do, but in the meantime the list of bookmarks grows to 50+.

    kotare1718

    October 18, 2008 at 9:21 pm

  3. Make folder on your desktop called “articles”. Make a sub-folder in there called “unread articles”. Put ’em in there.

    Lexington Green

    October 19, 2008 at 3:12 am

  4. Same here. I have hundreds of megs of unread files that I saved with the intention of reading when I found the time. Unfortunately, I have never had a chance to follow-through for fear of being left behind due to the sheer volume of material being published on the internet on a daily basis.

    Arcane

    October 19, 2008 at 11:23 pm

  5. I have a gigabyte of unread PDF files…

    Adam Elkus

    October 21, 2008 at 3:06 am


Leave a Reply

