Antilibrary

So many books to read, so little time.

New Reading

with 6 comments

Just picked up some new books for the weekend–an anthology of Georg Simmel’s thought as well as his Philosophy of Money, a Weber anthology, and lastly Durkheim’s famous analysis of suicide in the book of the same name.

Looking for some books on cybernetics and systems theory. It may help me get a better understanding of Thomas P.M. Barnett’s work, which heavily relies on systems theory applied to international relations and economics. Any suggestions?

Written by Adam Elkus

October 21, 2008 at 7:03 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oi, editors! What’s with the new look? What happened to ’em pictures with those old book covers?

    YT

    October 21, 2008 at 7:16 am

  2. Read Simmel, Weber and Durkheim in college.

    All were interesting though I think Weber was better than Simmel, and both were better than Durkheim.

    I would like to go back and read some Weber.

    “…cybernetics and systems theory…”

    I know zilch about either.

    Lexington Green

    October 22, 2008 at 6:32 am

  3. This might be a sideways entry into the genres your requested. Or at the very least, an entry into a subgenre of your requested genres.

    Manuel Castells’s The Network Society
    Jan van Dijk’s The Network Society: Social Aspects of New Media
    Deleuze and Guattari’s A Thousand Plateaus
    Thacker and Galloway’s The Explicit a Theory of Networks

    Ortho

    October 23, 2008 at 2:32 am

  4. I have Deleuze and Guattari, although I can’t claim to say I understand it yet. I got introduced to rhizome theory and nomadology through the Systemic Operational Design.

    Adam Elkus

    October 23, 2008 at 3:10 am

  5. YUK! The Thacker and Galloway’s text is The Exploit. What was I thinking?

    I got introduced to the above books while trying to understand the cultural significance of “circulation” in eighteenth-century London.

    Ortho

    October 23, 2008 at 4:02 am

  6. It’s really difficult reading. I wonder if it would be easier for me if I was able to read the original French, but chances are that’s not it either. I think, though, that I would probably get it if I had a better understanding of Freud, Lacan, and Foucault. My education in cultural theory is limited really to a couple of literary theory and film studies courses taken ages ago, as well as a lot of self-instruction. However, I am very interested in the interaction between those concepts and military theory and international politics.

    Adam Elkus

    October 23, 2008 at 5:55 am


Leave a Reply

