Antilibrary

So many books to read, so little time.

David Hackett Fischer

with 6 comments

I just saw David Hackett Fischer speak at the University Club in Chicago, about his new book about Champlain. I got that one plus Albion’s Seed, Paul Revere’s Ride and Washington’s Crossing signed. I got to ask one question — whether he was going to ever finish American Plantations, and whether it would provoke the same PC outrage that Albion’s Seed had. He answered, in effect “yes” to the first one, and ducked the second one.

When he was signing my books I asked him if he had read Walter Russell Mead’s books, God and Gold and Special Providence. Fischer, remarkably, had never heard of him. I wrote the titles on the back of a business card. I asked him if he knew of the work of Alan Macfarlane, and he said yes but did not get the sense he knew Macfarlane’s work well. I said he really ought to look at the Modern World series, which really provides a lot of the background for Albion’s Seed. My time ran out then. My next two questions would have been about The Anglosphere Challenge and The Cousins’ Wars, but alas, no time.

DHF seems like a very decent chap.

His next book will be a comparative study of the USA and New Zealand. That could be good.

Written by lexingtongreen

November 7, 2008 at 9:12 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just purchased Albion’s Seed and will begin reading it today. I’m a new volunteer tour guide at the Whitall House, Red Bank Battlefield, National Park, NJ and doing research for my own novel based on the battle there during the Revolution.

    Your questions to D.H.Fischer were interesting and came up during my search for his book American Plantations, but no date on the msg. leaves me wondering when the meeting between you two took place.
    Thanks! Jo Ann Wright

    Jo Ann Wright

    April 20, 2009 at 5:18 pm

  2. Jo Ann, I saw Prof. Fischer at the University Club in Chicago on November 7, 2008.

    If you search “Fischer” on the ChicagoBoyz blog, or Albion’s Seedling’s blog, you will find many posts by myself and others referring to Fischer’s writing.

    Lexington Green

    April 20, 2009 at 5:29 pm

  3. I first read “Albion’s Seed” about seven years ago and was thoroughly engrossed by the depth of its detail. I do look forward to the publication of “American Plantations”!

    N.P. West

    September 14, 2009 at 10:55 pm

  4. I’m always looking for recent informations in the internet about this topic. Thankz!

    Jeopspayday

    December 10, 2009 at 5:06 pm

  5. happy to met for you.I ‘am, Jerry, I have a lot of information to share, free gift , you can get more information click on my website, I am willing to be your friend. thanks.

  6. Valuable info. Lucky me I found your site by accident, and I’m shocked why this accident didn’t happened in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

    Dorothy

    December 19, 2012 at 6:11 am


Leave a comment